Charter Township of Genesee

Charter Township of Genesee

The Charter Township of Genesee is located on C.S. Mott Lake, just northeast of Flint. It is roughly midway between Detroit and Lansing. Lansing is the state capital. The major thoroughfare network system includes freeways. It also includes principal arterials and minor arterials. These systems connect Genesee County with the remainder of Michigan.
I-475 forms a freeway loop within the urban area of Flint. This is also an alternate route when traveling north or south through Genesee County. In addition, it allows easy access to Flint’s auto manufacturing areas.
I-75 is a major north-south thoroughfare. This connects Genesee County to the recreational areas in northern Michigan. In addition it connects to Canada. And finally to the manufacturing areas of Genesee County.
I-69 is the primary east-west freeway connection. This highway connects the Flint area with the Cities of Lapeer and Port
Huron. This also connects to the international Blue Water Bridge. The bridge crosses Canada to Port Huron. This is the second-busiest
truck crossing between in the nation. The bridge funnels a vast majority of the truck traffic to I-69



  • The Charter Township of Genesee was established in 1838 and is bordered by the Flint, Burton, Mount Morris, Mount Morris Township, Richfield Township and Vienna Township. Family entertainment in Genesee Township includes Huckleberry Railroad and Crossroads Village. Also in our area you can find Johnson Memorial Library, Mott Lake, Stepping Stones Falls and BlueBell Beach, among others.
  • The greater Flint area is the population and economic hub of a larger region that extends into Oakland, Lapeer, Shiawassee, Saginaw and Tuscola counties. This primary trade area has a total population of about 640,000 residents. It is the geographic boundary from which Flint/Genesee County and its businesses draw most of their visitors, customers and workforce.




  • The Genesee School District (
  • The Kearsley School District (
  • The Beecher Community Schools (
  • The Mt Morris School District (
  • The Beecher Water District (
  • The University of Michigan-Flint (
  • Kettering University (
  • Mott Community College (